Bananas: Healthy Carb Hunger Busters

I’ve been seeing bananas in the “news” a lot recently. Every little internet “news-finder” that I look at has included an article, recipes, etc. about the ability of bananas to help you curb hunger. It has to do with a healthy carb called resistant starch, which bananas (especially slightly under-ripe bananas) have in abundance.

Here are a few of the websites:
http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/food/bananas-the-ultimate-hunger-buster-2456998/

http://www.everydayhealth.com/blogs/the-better-digestion-blog/the-top-food-that-beats-hunger-is?xid=nl_EverydayHealthChildrensHealth_20110305

http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/fruits-and-fruit-juices/1846/2

The first webpage (shine.yahoo.com) has several recipes on it, all of which actually look good to me, which is a huge accomplishment. The only way I’ve ever been able to eat bananas and liked them was if they were sliced thinly into my breakfast cereal. However, since one of the issues I need to fix in order to make it onto the healthy food highway is portion sizes, and I’ve been worried about being hungry as I cut back my portions, I may have to push bananas into my snack repertoire. I plan on trying all these recipes and will let you know how they turn out.

Here are some other recipes I might try:
Baby Bananas in Orange Sauce by Global Table Adventures
Banana Meatloaf by Rayna Jordan on Allrecipes.com
Fruit Salad with Honey Dressing by Paula Deen on Foodnetwork.com

To my readers: What’s your favorite way to eat bananas?

About adventuresofapickyeater

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a three-year-old son and a fifteen-month-old daughter), 20 years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the common cook. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Dinner, Fruit, Healthy, Recipes, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bananas: Healthy Carb Hunger Busters

  1. Pingback: Bananas in Pineapple Sauce | Adventures of a Picky Eater

Leave a Reply

