Hashbrown Casserole: Simply Scrumptious

Last night we went on a rather good culinary adventure. In fact, I’d say we went on a truly successful adventure. Of course, it’s probably not something that would be considered healthy, but it got protein in me, which is a big accomplishment.

What was this miracle food, you ask? It was a hash brown casserole based off of two different recipes I have found on the internet: Paula Deen’s Hash brown Casserole and a potato and sausage casserole that I found on this forum (it’s the sixth recipe down under the title “Sausage Potato Bake”).

Here are the changes I made:

1) Paula’s recipe calls for chopped onions, the forum’s recipe calls for diced onions, but I used bigger chunks due to simple personal preference: I cut the whole onion into thin slices and then quartered the slices.

2) Paula’s recipe includes a layer of cubed French or Italian bread. I thought that there would be enough carbs/starch with the hash browns and I didn’t want to spend the money on a specialty bread, so I left this out.

3) Due to the fact that I did not have 8 eggs in my freezer (and the fact that I had eliminated the bread layer), I only used 5 eggs. I also reduced the milk to 1 1/2 cups instead of the 2 1/4.

4) I also left out the nutmeg (because I couldn’t find it in our as-of-yet unpacked spice box) and the dijon mustard because we were out.

5) Finally, because I wanted to try the recipe with pepper jack cheese on it (because I love spicy things and I love that aspect of the forum’s recipe), I actually used two smaller dishes rather than one 13 x 9 dish. I put the casserole together following Paula’s direction, simply substituting pepper jack cheese slices on one of the two dishes.

Here are some pictures:


They both turned out really yummy and could easily be used for any meal of the day. I’m glad that we left the bread out, because I found the meat to potato to egg to cheese ratio perfect. I do, however, think it would have been nice if the onion flavor had come through stronger.

As for the cheeses, I had used grated Parmesan cheese and I couldn’t taste it past the cheddar cheese. I don’t know if I didn’t use enough (because I wasn’t in the mood to measure) or if it would have had a stronger flavor if it had been shredded or sliced Parmesan. The pepper jack on the other casserole went beyond scrumptious and into the realm of heavenly.

My husband gave his seal of approval on both varieties and we’re having the leftovers for lunch today. I’m practically counting down the minutes until I can have the pepper jack version again. Yuuu-uum!

To my readers: What type of cheese would you want to try on this casserole?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Comfort Food, Dinner, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hashbrown Casserole: Simply Scrumptious

  1. Constance says:

    I like stringy cheese, so maybe mozzarella?

  2. Melty mozzarella (like on pizza and lasagna) is the best (only, for me) way to eat mozzarella. That makes me curious how an “Italian” version of this would taste: mozzarella, ricotta, Parmesan…could be good. Sounds deliciously cheesy and melty. The only question now is do I take a chance on trying another version of this, or do I stick with the heavenly Pepper Jack version I’ve already discovered? That’s the biggest question when one is a picky eater. Stick with the sure thing or continue the adventure?

  3. Jenny Crowl says:

    I imagine you could go greek with a yummy feta and sun dried tomato addition as well!

  4. Jenny Crowl says:

    poo the sun dried tomato would also add a gorgeous pop of color as well!

Leave a Reply

