Back from Wisconsin

We’re back from Wisconsin. We actually got back on Sunday, but by the time we were done with supper it was the kids’ bedtimes and the hubby and I thought an early bedtime was a good idea as well. And then yesterday my cold kicked into overdrive and there was nothing doing when it came to writing or anything else on the computer for that matter. So I’m sorry to keep you all sitting on the edge of your seats like I’m sure you were (sarcasm definitely intended πŸ˜‰ ), but here’s the rundown on how the marathon went:

The drive went really well. The kids slept and the adults stayed awake. Just the way it’s supposed to be. I already posted about our scrumptious sweets–they tasted just as good as I had hoped and got good reviews from the other marathon goers. Even the trail mix treats (our nod to healthy food) was “Actually not that bad” according to the Jerad-that-I’m-not-married-to-Jerad.

We watched these movies–when we were able to stay awake–and made many jokes at their expense: Book of Eli (2010), The Lost Skeleton Returns Again (2009), Night of the Lepus (1972), S. Darko (2009), Surprise 1–Zombieland, The Computer Wore Tennis Shoes (1969), Dark Descent (2002), Captain America (1990), 9 (2009), Surprise II–Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II, Supergirl (1984), Tron (1982)…this was from our personal collection and is the first time we have contributed a movie to the marathon, Attack of the Crab Monsters (1957), Surprise III–Despicable Me, The Black Hole (1979), Wolfman (2010). We also saw some shorts and a 1943ish Batman serial. Approximately 36ish hours of science-fiction madness and mayhem.

Of course, being a mother of a 3-year-old and a 15-month-old resulted in me not seeing anywhere near 36 hours of movies. Instead, I saw most of Book of Eli, most of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, all of Tron and Attack of the Crab Monsters, and some of Supergirl, Captain America, The Lost Skeleton Returns Again, and Despicable Me. I also saw a lot of Scooby Dooby Doo with the kids (both mine and a third one) upstairs.

The food turned out fantastic. We stuck to our plan, having some bagels, some turkey tacos, some soup-in-a-cup, and some grilled cheese sandwiches. I was also very proud of the fact that we didn’t eat all of our chips and, in fact, didn’t even open one of the bags. We also only opened one pack of M&Ms and didn’t eat all of that package. The host and hostess also had a pizza day: breakfast pizza, veggie pizza, fruit pizza, and dessert pizza. They were all very good and made me want to have a day where we have a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle marathon (we own all three of the movies) with a pizza day of our own.

Here’s a picture of the taco we had:

It was a fun weekend and, I’d say, a successful first attempt at scaling back the junk and improving the health of the food eaten at a very special annual event.

To my readers: What type of toppings would you have for a pizza on a pizza day?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Event, General Philosophy, Healthy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back from Wisconsin

  1. Constance says:

    Your pictures are great!

    • Thank you very much. I really enjoyed taking the picture of the taco when we were in Wisconsin. It made my husband and I want to get a nice table and some nice dishes and set them up in front of our sliding glass door (where there’s plenty of natural lighting). We’ll probably start with the dishes, since they’re the least expensive part of it and our glass-top stove provides a nice background. I think I know what I want for my birthday. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

