Mustard Crusted Pork Loin: Take 1

A couple nights ago I tried another pork recipe, going for a pork roast on the advice of one of the readers. Before I committed to it, however, I went surfing through the Food Network recipes to see if anything looked edible (by my oh-so-discerning standards 😉 ). I found this recipe by Guy Fieri. Jared and I have had a lot of success with his recipe’s in the past, it had some tasty looking ingredients, and it wasn’t too difficult looking. So I went with it. Of course, us being us and Osceola being the small town that it is, we had to change and omit a few things.

First, I’m not very good at selecting meat. I wrote down on my list that I need a pork loin. The recipe calls for a 4-5 pound bone-in pork loin roast. When I got to Wal-mart, I found that there were several types of pork loin. I couldn’t see any difference between them, so I selected the least expensive one I could find. Now I know that with meat, less expensive generally means lower quality, but as much as I want my taste buds to be happy, I NEED my bank account to be happy. So, I picked out the cheapest pork loin I could find.

It turned out it was a double-pack with a total weight of 3 pounds. This means, I ended up with two tiny little loins and a recipe that was meant for 4-5 pounds of pork. The result of this mishap was that, although we had half the meat, we ended up using the full recipe in order to cover the extra surface area of the meat.

Other changes: there was no fennel available at Wal-mart or Hy-Vee, so that was omitted, we used regular bread crumbs instead of panko bread crumbs, and we were unable to locate Vermouth and consequently left that out. Also, we don’t have a food processor so skipped that step and, due to my apparent inability to read a recipe before deciding to do it, didn’t have the time to “marinate” the recipe for 6 hours before cooking it. We also put the chicken broth and some rice vinegar (in place of the Vermouth) into the roasting pan instead of making a jus afterwords.

Here are the results:


It smelled divine–I love mustard, so I wasn’t surprised that it smelled good–and it even looked good on the plate. It turned out, however, that it was dry (we think we overcooked it) and that there wasn’t enough of the flavors in the meat. Since it was -supposed- to be left to soak up the flavors for 6 hours and we didn’t do that, AND I bought the wrong type of meat, I think we may just try this one again at some point in the future. After all, we’ve had good luck with Guy Fieri’s recipes in the past and we did change quite a bit of it. So…mustard crusted pork loin take 1: minimally successful. Take 2? Yet to be seen, but I’ll let you know when we try it again.

To my readers: What’s your experience with needing multiple “takes” to get a recipe right?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

