English Muffin Pizzas

Tuesday marked my second trip to the local food bank. Among other things, I came home with a package of English muffins. I also came home hoping to turn them into something easy for lunch. I drug out my trusty laptop, dusted off the Food Network’s recipe search engine, and stumbled across this recipe for English muffin breakfast pizzas. Now, I wanted lunch pizzas and didn’t have the ingredients for this recipe, but it did provide me with temperature and time information.

Here’s what I came up with:

Hot Dog Pizza
English muffins
1 Tbsp. Ketchup (approximately; more or less based on your personal preference)
1 hot dog cut in slices (1 hot dog did enough for 1 1/2 English muffins)
Shredded Cheddar Cheese

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place English muffin cut side up on a baking sheet. Place one tablespoon of ketchup on the English muffin to act as the “pizza sauce.” Place sliced hot dog pieces on the English muffin. Put desired amount of shredded cheddar cheese on top. Bake until cheese is melty.

Result:

My son seemed to like it rather well, but he’s been going through a ketchup phase, so I wasn’t surprised. I didn’t try any, but I was pleased with how the cheese melted so nicely. It was only in the oven for about five minutes and it was quick to make too.

Spicy Pepperoni Pizza:
English muffins
Tomato paste (I used only a part of a 4 oz can and did six “pizzas”)
Louisiana Hot Sauce (or your favorite hot sauce; optional)
Pepperoni
Mozzarella cheese
Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place English muffin cut side up on a baking sheet. Place one tablespoon of tomato paste on the English muffin to act as the “pizza sauce.” Sprinkle desired amount of hot sauce over the tomato paste. Place pepperoni on the English muffin. Put desired amount of shredded cheeses on top. Bake until cheese is melty.

Result:


My daughter and I both liked this (I left the hot sauce off of her pizzas). I didn’t offer any to my son because he’s in an “anti-pepperoni-on-my-pizza phase” (although he’s fine eating it on it’s own; go figure.) Also, you may notice that there’s “dots” of cheese on my pizza. This came from the fact that the only mozzarella cheese I had was in the form of string cheese. It still tasted the same–which was good!–so I don’t think it really mattered. The best part of all of this was, that regardless of how healthy it was in and of itself, it satisfied a craving for pizza and I only ate four “pieces” which were all smaller than the pieces I normally eat. So, even if it’s not healthy, it’s healthier by the simple fact that I ate less of it. And quantity of eating is almost as important as quality of eating.

To my readers: What are some “substitute” crusts you’ve used for pizza?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Kids, Lunch, Recipes, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

