Asian Pear: Perfect, Passable, or Pathetic?

The other day when we were busy flying through the grocery store–list in hand, because we always spend less when we have a list–I noticed that there was a pear with it’s own protective wrapping around it. I looked at my husband and asked him if any pear could possibly be worth shipping in it’s own styrofoam netting wrapped around it. Personally, seeing as how I am not a fan of pears (other than some divine Harry and David pears that I had at my grandmother’s once), I couldn’t see as how it could be worth the extra expense.

He didn’t seem to see it as remarkable one way or the other, simply shrugging his shoulders and saying “We can try one if you want.” Since they were on sale, and in the spirit of trying to expand my palette, I went ahead and grabbed one. We brought it home, stuck it in the refrigerator, and forgot about it for a few days until we needed a snack.

Let me start by saying that the most important thing I learned was not to buy produce on impulse. The Asian Brown Pear was awful! It was bitter, crunchy, and had a thick skin. However, all that together made it seem kind of like it wasn’t ripe. It wasn’t at all juicy, and really did have a kind of woody texture overall. Turned out none of us in the family liked it.

So is the Asian pear perfect, passable, or pathetic? Based on this attempt, I’d have to give it a resounding “pathetic.” To be fair, however, I think we’ll try it again, one more time, just to make sure that it wasn’t our fault the pear was awful. Next time, I’ll go to the supermarket armed with the information I found here.

To my readers: Have any of you had success with Asian pears? What’s your favorite kind of pear?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Fruit, Healthy, Shopping, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Asian Pear: Perfect, Passable, or Pathetic?

  1. Constance says:

    Like you, I’d go with Harry & David’s.

    • I REALLY liked the Harry and David’s pear I had that one time. It was juicy and sweet and possibly the best piece of fruit I have ever had. I hope to someday get a fruit of the month club from them for my family. It would be a good way to try a variety of fruit and if they can provide a pear that tastes good, when it’s probably my least favorite fruit, then I trust them enough to try their other fruits too.

Leave a Reply

