Walking Sloppy Joe: A Surefire Hit

Two nights ago, we decided it was time to dust off one of our old hits that was simple and tasty and that we hadn’t had in a very long time: the “walking” sloppy joe. This recipe came from the idea of a walking taco in combination with having tried to make sloppy joe’s one night only to realize we had no buns.

All you have to do is make your sloppy joe the way you normally would, which for us means browning some hamburger and putting in a can of sloppy joe mix–in this case, Manwich Bold. Then, instead of putting the sloppy joe meat on a bun, you place it on Fritos. Simple to make, simple to eat, easy to clean up after wards, and it’s a big hit with everyone in our family. The kids LOVED it!

As for nutritional value, well, this time, instead of eating just the walking sloppy joe, we made sure to include some steamed cauliflower. Also, normally we eat two or more sloppy joes. This way, we only ate the equivalent of one sloppy joe. Thinking about healthy foods also made me wonder about the difference in nutrition of a whole wheat bun like I normally go for (usually a Sara Lee brand, because I really like Sara Lee bread products) versus the Fritos. Here’s what I found:

I had about 1 1/2 servings of Fritos. That’s 240 calories (135 from fat), 15 g total fat, 240 mg sodium,  and 24 g carbohydrates, and 3 g protein.

If I’d had my two sloppy joes, and therefore two buns, I would have had the following: 240 calories (0 from fat), 0 g fat, 0 mg sodium, 44 g carbohydrate, and 8 g protein.

It turns out that this was a fun and interesting exercise. My instinct was that since I had eaten less, I would be healthier. Calories turned out to be equivalent (go figure), but the whole wheat bun was better on every count except the carbohydrates. What I really learned was that what I need to do for the best option is go back to the buns–but keep down to just one sandwich. We’ll see if I can do this next time around. Of course, for variety and an occasional treat, I may still pull out the Walking Sloppy Joe every now and then.

To my readers: When is a time you were surprised by the nutritional value of a food you truly enjoy?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Dinner, Healthy, Kids, Lunch, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

