Simple Sub Sandwiches

Every now and then I get in the mood to have a sub sandwich, but find I am not in the mood to pay someone else to make them. When that happens, Jared and I go strolling through the grocery store picking out whatever looks good. Just a couple of days ago, I find myself hit with this craving. Here’s what we ended up with:

Pepperoni Sub (for me):
2 pieces Pepperoni cut fresh in the deli department
2 pieces Hard salami
Romaine lettuce
Tomato
1 slice of onion Onion, very thinly sliced
2 slices pepper jack cheese
Sweet hot mustard

For a bread, we ended up with an on sale bread that wasn’t labeled with it’s name. I was a small loaf style bun, with two different types of seeds on the top. For us, the bread isn’t that important a part of the recipe. It’s definitely important for the sandwich, but we tend to get a different bread each time.

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place the bread on a baking sheet. Put one piece of pepper jack cheese on each side. Put onions on one side and salami on the other side. Place the pepperoni pieces on the baking sheet, around the bread (not on the bread). Bake until cheese is melty and pepperoni is crispy, about four minutes. Remove from oven, add remaining toppings, and enjoy!

Cold Cut Sub (for Jared):
Miracle whip
1 slice roast beef
1 slice pastrami
1 slice salami
1 slice of onion Onion, very thinly sliced
4 slices cucumber
2 slices tomato
2 slices American cheese
sweet hot mustard

Jared used the same bread as me and also commented that if you put too much Miracle whip on the bread, everything will slide off.

It was quick, easy, and tasty, and best of all, sandwiches are easy to adjust for personal tastes!

To my readers: What’s your favorite topping(s) for a sub-style sandwich?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

