Eating Out With Dad

Last night we went to the local Chinese restaurant for the first time. Jared had really been wanting to try it out and, I admit, with the “Asian” cravings I’ve been having the last couple of months, it sounded good to me to. So when I my dad called and wanted to know if we wanted to have supper together (“We could grab pizza or something”), I suggested trying out the Chinese place. I know. Shocking that I gave up the chance for pizza, but I figured it was Jared’s turn to get a treat. I do love the man, after all. More than pizza.

It wasn’t a large buffet, but it did have all the classics of an American Chinese buffet: fried rice, white rice, lo mein, stuff like the General Tsao’s and Pepper Beef, a dessert bar, and a side dishes bar. It turned out that the food was pretty good, although I wished that the General Tsao’s had been spicier. Of course, I almost always wish that spicy foods are spicier. The crab rangoon was divine! I tasted crab, without it being overpowering, and it went well with the sweet and sour sauce they had.

The most exciting thing, however, was the fact that I didn’t overeat. I had one plate of food, with a minimal amount of rice. I actually ate some protein (in the form of General Tsao’s chicken and honey chicken) and I only ate two crab rangoons (and only the portion that actually contains filling). Of course, I didn’t have any vegetables (because they weren’t in my meat selections), but I did have some mandarin oranges. All washed down with a big glass of water. So, it still wasn’t a healthy meal, but it definitely was a step in the right direction for me, and I’m proud of that.

The one drawback, however, was the fact that I realized just how much I like crab rangoon. It made me wonder, can you turn a fried, carbohydrate-wrapped food into something healthy? I looked up a few recipes on the internet and here’s some that looked good and/or easy:

Hot Crab Rangoon Dip by Sandra Lee as found on the Food Network
Crab Rangoon Pot Stickers by Emeril Lagasse as found on the Food Network
Hot Crab Rangoon Dip by Diageo Cocktails as found on the Food Network
Crab Rangoon by LunarCrystal as found on Allrecipes.com

A few things I thought of that could make it healthier were:

  • Eliminate the frying
  • Eliminate the wonton wraps
  • Use low-fat cream cheese
  • Use low-sodium soy sauce and (if they make it?) Worcestershire sauce
  • Several recipes also call for a soup or broth of some sort, so buying that as low-fat and/or low sodium
  • Instead of the wonton wraps, use a whole wheat bread, chip, or wrap to spread the mixture on

To my readers: Before I make a first attempt at a healthier version of crab rangoon, how would you make it healthier? Have you ever had a “healthy” crab rangoon? How did it taste?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Healthy, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

