Buffalo: Glad to Eat a Good for You Meat

We have now had two buffalo meat meals. We’ve still got one more pound of ground buffalo, which I plan to use on a “redo” of the meatloaf recipe, as well as some round steak and rump roast. I’ve begun looking up recipes for how to cook the steak and roast and that has lead me to wonder about the nutritional value of the buffalo meat. Here’s what I learned:

  • Buffalo has significantly less fat, fewer calories and cholesterol, and more iron and B12. You can see a chart with some more specific information here.
  • I’ve also learned, from personal experience, that it is an easier meat to eat. I tend to have trouble with the texture of meat, but all three times I’ve personally had buffalo meat, it was a smooth, nice texture.
  • This site mentions that it is lower in cholesterol and higher in protein.
  • Several pages talked about the fact that buffalo is grass fed and isn’t exposed to the antibiotics and growth hormones that other meats are subjected to.

The biggest drawback (perhaps the only drawback?) is the cost of the meat. Due to the fact that there is a high demand and a low supply, buffalo meat tends to cost more than other meats. However, one site pointed out that due to the dense quality of the meat, and the high concentration of protein and nutrients, you can eat less of the buffalo meat and still feel full.

Here are the recipes for the two meals I have used buffalo in recently:
Tator Tot Casserole
Meatloaf

To my readers: Have you ever had any “exotic” meat? What was it and how well did you like it?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Healthy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

