LBN Diet: Merging with the Healthy Food Highway

Recently, I’ve decided that it’s time to stop messing around. If I’m ever going to merge with the healthy food highway–and eventually the healthy LIFE highway–it needs to be now or never. And I’d much rather do it now than never. As a result, I’ve been doing lots of research based off of thoughts that have occurred to me while writing for this blog (as well as my Examiner.com posts, found here). When wandering through the library to find some books to read, I stumbled across the book Look Better Naked by Michele Promaulayko. Inside I found logical information, backed by research findings, and culminating in a diet and exercise plan that I found to look yummy, exciting, and doable.

So now we’re following a very slightly modified version of the LBN diet. First, we altered it for my husband, with the assumption that since he is more active than me and taller than me, that he would require more food than is listed in the diet. Secondly, the variety in the diet was amazing–but variety is expensive AND hard to get in small town Iowa. Some of the things are probably hard to get anywhere in Iowa, small town or otherwise.

We just bought the groceries for the first week of the meal plan (three meals and two snacks a day) and, amazingly, we were still around our normal budget. Exciting moment number one! Admittedly, I worked hard (through three different “versions” of an adjusted weekly set of meal plans and a grocery list), but I was victorious. We left the grocery store with healthy food and a grocery bill that was about the same as normal. How’d I accomplish this miracle? Unfortunately, it came about by sacrificing variety. I picked three different breakfasts, 2 different lunches, 2 different morning snacks, 2 different afternoon snacks, and about 4 different dinners. I then mixed and matched the meals until each day felt like there was more variety than there actually will be. We’ll have to see how it goes, but I’m optimistic.

Exciting moment number two came at the register. As I loaded the groceries onto the conveyor belt, I realized how fresh and healthy our food looked. It was a cart full of food that I was PROUD of. There wasn’t anything on there that I was embarrassed about, ashamed about, or thought other people would see and say “I can see why they’re fat!” And while those aren’t things that I consciously think about every time I go grocery shopping (or really, any time that I can recall), it was a shock to realize that those thoughts had been in the back of my mind and…they weren’t there this time! The worst thought I had was “people are going to think we’re part rabbit!” And that’s not a bad thought to have at all.

To my readers: What was a moment where you had a “revelation” about how you think about food? (Like when I realized that I had previously had background negative thoughts about what I put in my cart.)

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in General Philosophy, Healthy, Shopping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

