Free Day: Food Fun for Everyone

I had a doctor’s appointment this morning. Nothing wrong, just a normal annual physical. I did end up talking to my doctor about weight and calories and eating, though. After all, when I showed having GAINED 7 pounds since my last appointment three weeks ago, I was understandably frustrated. Turned out, the scale was off by 10 pounds, so I’d really LOST 3 pounds! Yippee! The LBN diet not only tastes good, it’s also working. A great combination in a diet.

Of course, before we found out I had actually lost weight, we had managed to have a good conversation about food and exercise (I’m doing yoga 1-2 times a day depending on how tight my muscles are and am up to 20 minutes of cardio every other day). My epiphany of the day came when she was talking about how I may have cut too many calories too quickly, even though I haven’t been feeling hungry. She recommends 200-300 calories of cut back per week in order to prevent the body from going into starvation mode and “hoarding” every calorie. THAT reminded me of the Body for Life plan, which is very similar to the LBN diet, except that it includes a “Free Day” once per week precisely to prevent your body from going into starvation mode.

What’s a free day, you ask? I’ll tell you, I say. A free day is a day where you can eat as much food as you want and it can be anything you want it to be. When we were trying the Body for Life diet, I remembering reading something about the free day that was very similar to this: “Even if you want to eat ice cream and only ice cream on your free day, you can do it.” It was my favorite part of the Body for Life plan.

So…why do I bring this up? Because today we’re having our first free day. It’s not a concept that is a part of the LBN diet, but I’ve decided to add it in (at least for now) in order to keep my body burning calories instead of storing them. So far, I’ve had a nice big bowl of potato soup with two slices of pepper jack cheese, one pop, and 1 1/2 cupcakes.My husband has had two bowls of soup (no cheese), one pop, and three cookies.

Amazingly, I find myself craving the food we’ve been eating all week. The salads and tuna and chicken. I’m even craving (and drinking) the crystal light I’ve been drinking all week. And both my husband and I found the desserts to be nowhere near as good as we used to find them. Maybe we won’t need free day’s as long as I thought.

To my readers: What would you eat on your free day?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Event, General Philosophy, Healthy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

