Tasty Tuna Salad: Healthy, Satisfying, AND Scrumptious

My version of the LBN diet–at least for this week–is big on including lettuce, primarily romaine. Two days ago I was making a tuna wrap. I intended to have my can of tuna, my two tablespoons homemade guacamole, some lettuce, and tomatoes on my 8″ whole wheat wrap. Needless to say, it didn’t all fit. Instead, I put some of my tuna and the guacamole on the wrap and then took the remainder of the items and made the following (absolutely scrumptious!) salad:

Tasty Tuna Salad
2/3 5 oz can of tuna, packed in water
1/2 chopped tomato
3 leaves romaine lettuce, torn or shredded
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
Red pepper flakes, to taste

The the romaine lettuce and tear to preferred size, placing the pieces in a bowl. Take your tuna and crumble it over the lettuce. (If you choose not to make a wrap to go with this meal, feel free to use a whole can of tuna.) Place your tomatoes on your salad. Using the can your tuna was packed in (to save on dirty dishes), place your 1 Tbsp olive oil, 1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce, and your red pepper flakes (to taste). Whisk with your fork until well blended. Drizzle over your salad. Gently mix the salad with your fork until the dressing is well distributed. Enjoy!

It was simple, healthy, and unbelievably tasty! I can hardly wait until the next time I get to have it. Get to have it. How often do dieters say that?

To my readers: What’s your favorite healthy salad topping?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Healthy, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

