Open Faced Sandwiches: Half the Carbs, All the Flavor

Tonight we had open faced sandwiches for the second time since starting the LBN diet. It was another “recipe” that was in the book that we took the idea and ran with it. Here’s what we ended up with:

Open Face Sandwiches (generic recipe):
1 slice whole grain bread
1 oz (approximately a 1 inch cube) cheese (mozzarella was suggested in the book)
vegetables of choice (zucchini, eggplant, artichoke heart, and red pepper were suggested in the book)

Cut desired amount of chosen vegetables. Roast or grill your vegetables. Place cheese on bread, top with vegetables. Enjoy!

My Sammy:
1 slice whole grain bread
2 slices provolone or Swiss cheese (whichever we have available, with provolone being my first choice
Zucchini
Artichoke heart
Yellow, orange, or red bell pepper (preferably two colors)
Jalapeno pepper
2 Tbsp olive oil
Red pepper flakes
8 slices pepperoni

Cut desired amount of vegetables. Place 2 Tbsps of olive oil in a skillet, add the vegetables, and cook at medium high heat. Add the red pepper flakes when the vegetables are almost done.

Preheat oven to 450. Place one slice of bread on cookie sheet. Place cheese on bread. Put pepperoni around the bread (not on the bread, but on the cookie sheet). Place in oven until cheese is melted and pepperoni is crispy, about 5-6 minutes. Remove from oven. Place the bread on a plate. Place the pepperoni on the bread and then top with vegetables. Enjoy!

Jared’s Sammy:
Same as mine except…
Cheese–white american and cheddar smoked american
Meat–hard salami (3 slices) or the pepperoni, with the salami being his first choice
Jalapeno pepper and red pepper flakes–would prefer one or the other, but is alright with both being in it because he loves me 🙂

This is one of those recipes that is super filling, super easy to make, and leaves me excited to have it again some time in the future. When I asked Jared tonight about meals he would like to keep or replace when I’m making next weeks menu, he right away said, “This was pretty good.”

Of course, our versions of the recipe aren’t quite as healthy as the LBN version. We had to omit the eggplant because it’s not available to us. We went with different cheeses because of what was already sitting in our refrigerator. And the meat we added because 1) we have a psychological indoctrination to the idea that a sandwich requires meat and 2) because we’re trying not to keep our bodies from going into starvation mode. I’m hoping that some day we’ll be able to at least try it the way it was meant to be done, however, the way we’ve been making it is super tasty–the pepperoni/meat just really sets off the flavors of the fresh vegetables–and if we never get around to it, I’m happy that we’ve managed to cut down our portion sizes. We’re eating a smaller sandwich, with fewer carbohydrates (because there’s only one slice of bread), with less cheese, and less meat.

To my readers: How have you cut carbs without cutting flavor or ending up hungry after a meal?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Healthy, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Open Faced Sandwiches: Half the Carbs, All the Flavor

  1. How can the bread support all that!

    • Actually, it can’t. Well, I don’t know, really. I’ve never tried picking it up, I just assume it can’t. This is a “eat with knife and fork” sandwich, really. But it’s super delicious and totally worth the extra work to eat it.

Leave a Reply

