No Pop? No Problem!

Well, maybe not no problem. But I’ve gotten it down to a manageable problem. After reading somewhere that one can of pop a day adds 15 pounds worth of calories to your diet a year, I started paying attention to how much pop I was drinking. Turns out, that I had crept up to as many as four pops a day. That’s 60 pounds worth of calories! Not acceptable.

Of course, I immediately began weaning myself off of the pop, easing back down to one a day. I got there in a couple of weeks and then realized that every time I had a bad day–which happens frequently, at the moment, I’m sorry to say–I shot back up to four, five, even six! (yes, six!) pops in one day. I realized at that point that I was not only addicted to the caffeine (as evidenced by my headaches every time I tried to cut down), but I was also emotionally addicted to Mt. Dew. Where women in movies grab for their pint of ice cream, I would reach for my 12 ounces of Mt. Dew.

I started treating myself like an addict should. Mt. Dew left the house. It was no longer a welcome guest and it was no longer ordered at restaurants, bought for car trips, or drank for special occasions. I haven’t had Mt. Dew in two months.

Getting rid of the pop was a little harder. I was scared of the whopping migraines I’d ended up with the last several times I’d tried to cut back on pop intake. But–thanks to this adventure here and my efforts to merge with the healthy food highway–I was also determined to do it. With gradual work and a constant shifting of which pops I was buying (so I wouldn’t get emotionally attached to anything else), I finally got down to one can a day.

And since starting the LBN diet, I’ve noticed that pop tastes a lot sweeter and I’m not always drinking the full can of pop. And then I took the plunge. I determined I’d bought my last twelve pack of pop, I announced it to my husband, and three nights ago I had my last pop. That’s right. I have had my last pop. Three days and counting.

The first day was fine, but yesterday I ended up with a headache all day. Genius that I am, I didn’t realize why I was suffering until my husband got out his pop for the evening (his last pop was last night). Today, I made sure to have some tylenol when the headache started. And it’s been good. I can finally be proud of myself, pop-wise.

For those of you looking for things to replace pop, Crystal Light has always been good for me. I also like to take juice and water it down with club soda. It’s got a pop “feel” too it, but no caffeine and less calories. Pineapple orange juice is my favorite juice to do this with.

To my readers: Have you had your own struggles with caffeine or any other food-based addiction? How did you deal with it?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in General Philosophy, Healthy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Pop? No Problem!

  1. I like my pop, but i only have 1 a day.

    • That’s what I had been working on going to, just having one a day. And I always figured that I’d always have my one a day. Then I read an article about how having just one pop a day is the calorie equivalent of 15 pounds a year! I don’t want to spend the rest of my life gaining fifteen pounds a year. I also don’t want to have to exercise enough extra times to counteract that–after all, you have to burn 3500 calories to get rid of 1 pound of fat!

Leave a Reply

