Free Day Take 2: Sandwiches, Shakes, and Pizza Oh my!

We had our second free day of our LBN diet today. Again, the free day is an addition that we took from the Body for Life program for my husband’s benefit (to give him something to look forward to).

Happily, “Free Day: Take 2” was more successful than the first time around. I had no pop (yay!), for one thing. Secondly, we had healthy versions of “unhealthy” food this time around. Our lunch was a Subway sandwich and, although I got a $5 footlong, I only ate 6″ of it for lunch and split the other half of it with my son for a snack later in the day.

For afternoon snack we had a shake, but it was a healthy version of a shake (based on a recipe found in the recipes section of the Sensa website):

1/2 cup skim milk
1/2 cup non-fat, no sugar added vanilla ice cream
2 tablespoons chocolate syrup

The original recipe called for frozen yogurt, but when shopping at the store I discovered that the non-fat, no sugar added vanilla ice cream had fewer calories than the frozen yogurt. The resulting shake is refreshing, sweet (although definitely a “healthier” sweet than other shakes), and just plain good to drink after working out or hiking.

We did splurge and have some sugar cookies today. Nothing healthy about them. However, it’s a free day and it’s a fun thing to do with the kids. We cut them into squares (because Christopher is learning about the shape “square” this week), frosted them, and then let Christopher decorate them.

For supper we had pizza. I resorted to my English muffin pizza and Jared did his on a “Artisan Tuscan Herb” loaf. Since I planned it this time (instead of the spur-of-the-moment occurrence that happened last time), I made sure to buy pizza sauce and I added a couple of toppings. The result: I learned that tomato paste is a better sauce on English muffins (because the English muffins become soggy with the looser, more easily absorbed pizza sauce) and I learned that my new favorite pizza is pepperoni, pineapple, and mushroom. Also, we used slices of mozzarella this time and it looked so beautiful and melty. I think this may be the way to go with any homemade pizza in the future.

Overall, it was a nice day, but I still felt more tired at the end of it than I do on a “healthy eating” day. Maybe next week I can get even closer to a free day that’s not any different than a healthy day.

To my readers: What toppings do you like on your pizza?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Event, General Philosophy, Healthy, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Free Day Take 2: Sandwiches, Shakes, and Pizza Oh my!

Leave a Reply

