Breakfast Soup Recipe

Breakfast….soup? Really? A breakfast SOUP?

Yes, really. And yes, that’s what I thought myself when I followed the recipe and realized it was, indeed, going to turn out to be a soup. Not exactly what I had planned for when I picked it out and started altering it. Here’s the recipe as written:

Spicy Fried Corn and Sausage (found on the Sensa website)
Ingredients
8 fluid ounces chicken broth, fat-free, low-sodium
2 fluid ounces evaporated skim milk, canned
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
2 teaspoons black pepper
1 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
4 ounces turkey breakfast sausage
1 onion, yellow
1 teaspoon canola oil
2 cups corn, yellow, frozen

Preparation
Preheat oven to 425°F. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the chicken stock, evaporated milk, garlic powder, black pepper and hot sauce. Set aside. In a large, non-stick, oven-safe skillet, cook and crumble sausage until lightly browned. Remove with a spatula and drain on paper towels. Wash, peel, and chop onion. Set aside. Save the pan drippings from the sausage and in that same skillet, add the oil. Heat oil and pan drippings over medium-high heat. Add the onions and cook until they are soft, stirring frequently. Add the corn (thawed) to the skillet, and continue to cook for 5-7 minutes, stirring frequently and making sure not to burn. When the corn and onions are sizzling, add back the drained and crumbled cooked sausage as well as the chicken stock mixture to the skillet. Stir everything together and cover with a lid. Reduce heat to low. Simmer, covered, for 5 more minutes. Stir and transfer uncovered pan to the pre-heated oven for 15 minutes. Serve warm for best flavor.

Serves : 4
Prep Time: 5 minutes or less
Total Time: 35 minutes

Now, as I’m not great at reading recipes AND I wanted to make more than just 4 servings, the recipe we ended up with was different. First, I multiplied almost everything by four. What didn’t I multiply by four? The pepper (which I left the same, only adding two teaspoons worth of pepper because it seemed like SOOOO much) and the hot sauce. For the hot sauce, I used Louisiana Hot Sauce (my favorite and almost always the one I use) and only did two teaspoons worth (because I’m the only one in my family who likes hot things). Also, we stuck with just one onion and five ounces of evaporated (because that’s the size cans come in around here).

The verdict? Guilty. Of being absolutely delicious. Was it weird to eat soup for breakfast? Yes. Was it worth it? Yes. Will we be repeating it? Probably. The only negative thing was that it was so good it was hard to stick to the appropriate portions. Even when I felt full, I wanted to taste more. Consequently, I look forward to having this recipe again–but not until I’m better at controlling my impulses.

To my readers: What is the strangest thing you’ve had for breakfast?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Healthy, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Breakfast Soup Recipe

  1. Yum! Who would have thought of having soup for breakfast.

    • Since I’ve posted this recipe, we’ve actually had this meal for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snack. It’s a really good “anytime” meal that is equally satisfying no matter what time of day you have it.

  2. Megha says:

    Hi, you said you were following the lbn diet, and had breakfast soup? I am also following the same plan, and I didn’t see it on the menu! It sounds great though, ao I wonder if I just missed it or something, or was this a substituiom for another breakfast? Just curious :o)

    • It wasn’t an LBN recipe. My husband and I get bored with food really quickly, so we started looking for non-LBN recipes that would fit closely with the LBN ideals. It may not be a perfect fit, but it seemed like a close fit to us and so we went with it. The worst thing about the recipe is it’s so tasty it’s hard to stick to a reasonable portion, which is a must do if you’re going to be healthy (or follow the LBN diet). 🙂

Leave a Reply

