Birthday? Free Day?

Lucky for me, it was both. And it was a really nice day, even with two sick children. Of course, since it was my birthday, we went for the free day concept full blast–despite having had limited success the past couple of weeks. Who can resist candy, cake, and pizza on her birthday? Not me. Especially when I wanted to have a lazy movie day “theme” to my birthday.

So, what did we eat? For breakfast we had some leftover breakfast soup. We then went shopping for all the things we needed to have a movie day and came home with a regular beef ‘n cheddar from Arby’s (for me), a happy meal (for the kid’s to share, although they didn’t eat much of it), a double cheeseburger (for Jared), and a medium fry (for Jared and I to share). We had some candy, popcorn, and chips for snacks throughout the day–although I didn’t eat as much of any of it as I expected to. For dinner, Jared had some Chinese and I had a barbecue pizza from Casey’s. Again, we didn’t eat as much as expected, because we had leftovers of all of it. And of course there were some cupcakes. Here’s a picture of them:

On the down side, we know have some “scientific” proof that Free Day is not that helpful to us. Not only does it set off my cravings, reset Jared’s need for bigger portion sizes, and sugar up the kids…but we now know that it is detrimental to our actual weight loss. For the first time, we weighed ourselves the day before Free Day and the day after Free Day. The results: 2 pound gain for Jared and an almost 3 pound gain for me. Now, there is some daily variation possible, and we didn’t weigh at exactly the same time both times…but it is the first time since we’ve started this diet that we’ve shown any weight gain. So…Free Day is going to be drastically cut back next week (think sub sandwiches as our free food and maybe a pudding based, mostly sugar free dessert as our sweet thing for the day). We’ll see how it goes. Still, it was a fun day. đŸ™‚

To my readers: What did you do for food on your last birthday?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Event, General Philosophy, Healthy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday? Free Day?

  1. Wow those look so delicious.

Leave a Reply

