Avacado Salsa

Several months ago I was looking for an avocado recipe. I stumbled across Rachel Ray’s avocado boat recipe. It was very scrumptious. However, over the past several months it has morphed into an avocado salsa (recipe to follow) that goes excellently with Wheat Thins.

Avocado Salsa
1 Haas avocado
1/8 medium yellow onion, chopped
1 roma tomato, chopped
2 tablespoons of olive oil
hot sauce to taste (we prefer Louisiana Hot Sauce in our household)
Wheat thins

1. Cut open the avocado, remove skin and seed, and chop avocado into bowl. The easiest way to get the avocado out of it’s skin is to cut a line all the way around it. Twist the two halves. This will result in the avocado splitting in half, the seed left on one side. Scoop out the seed with a spoon and then scoop the avocado out of it’s skin with the same spoon.

2. Combine the chopped onion, avocado, and tomato.

3. Drizzle with olive oil and hot sauce.

4. Stir gently with a spoon. This makes two healthy-sized portions. If you only need one portion, use half the avocado (leaving the half with the seed in it as the seed helps prevent browning).


This is one of my favorite snacks right now. It’s healthy and fresh tasting, plus it has a salsa feel to it, while also feeling new and unique. The wheat thins add a nice crunch, sweetness, and saltiness as well. This really has everything–everything I look for, anyway. It’s also easy to make and my husband likes it as much as I do, even though I make sure that it’s got some good hot sauce flavoring to it. This is a definite keeper that is sure to make many more appearances in our household.

To my readers: What’s your favorite use for avocado, other than guacamole?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Healthy, Lunch, Recipes, Snacks, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Avacado Salsa

  1. It would be good for parties!

    • It would indeed. You could even make it seem fancier just by putting the avocado on the wheat thins ahead of time so that people didn’t have to dip into a dish. I’ll have to make sure and remember this the next time I’m looking for a party dish–any excuse to have it is an excuse worth using! I’ve really come to love this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

