Tempting Turkey Burger

All right, so I know I already did a turkey burger recipe and that it’s a totally tasty recipe that I would recommend to anyone, but…well, Jared did an off-the-cuff turkey burger recipe last night that outdoes just about any burger recipe he’s ever done. So, of course, I had to share it with you. Here it is:

Tempting Turkey Burgers:

Burgers:
1 pound of ground turkey
1/2 tablespoon onion powder
1/2 tablespoon garlic powder
1/2 tablespoon Lowry’s seasoning salt
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 pinch salt
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 tablespoon soy sauce and 3/4 tablespoon balsamic vinegar OR 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
1/4 cup bread crumbs (or however much is needed to result in a good “patty” consistency meat)

Toppings:
1 large yellow onion, thinly sliced and caramelized in approximately 1/4 stick of butter
Slices of mozzarella cheese
Lettuce

Sauce:
1 part horseradish
2 parts ketchup
(make as much as needed)

1. Mix all burger ingredients together. Let “rest” for ten minutes while you caramelize your onions. Portion out into six patties.

2. Place aluminum foil on a baking sheet. Place patties on aluminum foil and broil for 5 minutes. Flip over and put slices of mozzarella cheese on top and place back in the oven/broiler for 2 minutes.

3. Meanwhile, toast English muffins to act as buns and mix your sauce.

4. When the cheese is melted, remove your burgers from the oven/broiler and place on an English muffin. Top with onions, a piece of lettuce, and your sauce. Enjoy!

It was SOOOO good. The only issue was in eating only one portion of it. I look forward to having it again in the future–and everyone else in the family seemed to feel the same way.

To my readers: What toppings do you prefer on your burgers?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Healthy, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

