Chipotle Mashed Cauliflower

As a fan of mashed potatoes, and a fan of wanting to eat healthier, I’ve been looking for  substitutes to mashed potatoes. One such search led to my adventure with mashed poturnipoes (which you can read about here) and my second foray into the “mashed potato substitute” universe caused me to stumble across Chipotle Mashed Cauliflower recipe (adapted from a free recipe card that I found at the local Wal-mart).

Ingredients:
5 cloves garlic (or up to a whole garlic bulb if you are a fan of garlic)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 bag of frozen cauliflower florets
3/4 package of cream cheese (we used whipped cream cheese spread)
4 tablespoons milk
2 teaspoons minced chipotle peppers in adobo sauce

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
2. Cut off pointed end of garlic cloves (or bulb if you are using a whole one). Place garlic on heavy-duty aluminum foil and drizzle with olive oil. Fold up the foil to create a seal. Bake for 20 minutes and let cool. Squeeze pulp from garlic into food processor.
3. Meanwhile, put the bag of frozen cauliflower and 1 1/2 cups of water in a pot. Cover it and steam on high for 20 minutes.
4. Place cauliflower in the food processor with the garlic, add in cream cheese, milk, and chipotle peppers.Process until smooth. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

We had this the same night we had the Tempting Turkey Burgers. Not only was it delicious on its own, but it was a very good compliment to the burgers. This is definitely something we’ll be eating again, both with the burgers and with other things. And I’m very much encouraged by the success of both of my mashed potato substitutes. I look forward to seeing what else I can find.

To my readers: What “substitutes” have you found for mashed potatoes?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Healthy, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

