Squash Casserole and Wisdom Teeth

No, we didn’t have them together at the same time. However, because I recently had my wisdom teeth out (and consequently haven’t been doing much related to food other than pick at it and wish it was softer) I thought I would talk about a squash casserole we had the other day.

It’s a Paula Deen recipe and (for once) we made it just like the recipe called for. We had it the other day with our Parmesan tilapia. The recipe can be found here. Here’s the picture of how it turned out for us:

It turned out pretty good. The buttery-ness and the crunch of the Ritz crackers was great, and I loved the fresh taste of the squash. And of course, who can pass on the gooey goodness of anything cheesy? It worked well together and complimented the sauce on our tilapia very well. Of course, it didn’t add a whole lot of color to the meal. Still, I plan on having it again and have been happy to have the leftovers as an option for my still tender mouth.

On a side note, I never realized how few “soft” dishes there are to choose from. When going for something healthy, something soft, and some variety…it gets rather difficult to plan meals rather quickly.

To my readers: What’s your favorite soft dish?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Dinner, Healthy, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

