Pizza Bread

I am a huge fan of pizza. I have been all my life. It’s a comfort food when I’m feeling blue and it’s a celebratory food when I’m feeling good. Last night we came up with yet another version of homemade pizza and it was totally delicious, so I thought I’d share it here.

Pizza Bread:
1 loaf french bread (cut into four pieces–like if you were making a sub sandwich)
Fruit salsa (we used Peach Pineapple Chipotle)
Shredded mozzarella cheese
Sliced swiss cheese
Shredded fiesta blend cheese
Pizza toppings (I had pepperoni on mine and Jared had pepperoni and Canadian bacon)
Preheated oven at 350 degrees

1. Put aluminum foil on a baking sheet, place bread on the foil, and place slices of swiss cheese down on top of the bread.
2. Spoon desired amount of salsa on top of the Swiss cheese (this is in place of pizza sauce).
3. Sprinkle on the two types of shredded cheese. Feel free to be generous. This is a nice, ooey, gooey, cheesy pizza.
4. Place pizza toppings on top.
5. Place in oven for ten minutes.

This was a really good pizza. The bread, the Swiss cheese, and the salsa all added a delightful hint of sweetness, while the chipotle flavoring of the salsa and the pepperoni’s added a mild spiciness to balance out the sweetness. I also found it nice to not have a strong tomato taste. By using the salsa instead of the normal pizza sauce, I was actually able to taste more flavors overall, instead of just tomato. It was a nice meal and will probably be something that we repeat–on free days, anyway. After all, it was neither healthy calorie-wise nor portion-wise and I’m not sure if I could eat a smaller amount of it.

To my readers: What’s the most unique topping you’ve ever put on a pizza?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Dinner, Kids, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

