Kitchen Sink Cottage Cheese

One of the biggest difficulties of doing a healthy eating plan is all the eating that you have to do. Spreading the calories out through several meals and snacks during the day is nice because it helps you feel fuller longer, but it’s difficult because you don’t always want to be having the same snack. No matter how much you like carrots, you don’t want carrots as a snack twice a day, seven days a week. So even as I am always looking for new meals and foods to try out, I am also always looking for quick, easy snacks to add to our list so that we can rotate in some more variety. Here is a cottage cheese snack that I stumbled upon when I was hungry and not wanting to really make anything. I just grabbed a few things out of the cupboard that sounded good, tossed them together, and ended up liking it. So, without further ado, here is my “Kitchen Sink Cottage Cheese.”

Kitchen Sink Cottage Cheese
1/2 cup cottage cheese
1/2 can pineapple tidbits
1 tablespoon honey roasted sunflower nuts
1 small handful of dried cranberries

This snack is easy to make and easy to eat. The toppings make the distinctive cottage cheese flavor more mild but do not completely cover it up. The pineapple provides a fresh sweetness, the honey roasted sunflower nuts provide an earthiness, and the dried cranberries add a bright pop of color and flavor. Over all, it provides a variety of complementary flavors that can add a bright note to any day’s food line-up.

To my readers: What’s your favorite way to eat cottage cheese?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Fruit, Healthy, Kids, Lunch, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

