Crockpot Breakfast for MOPS Meeting

One of the many things I’ve discovered while raising my children is that I can’t do it on my own. I can’t even do it with “just” my husband’s help. It really does take a village. With our extended family spread all over the country, however, and our immediate family having to move every time my husband gets a new promotion, having even one person to help us has been difficult to find. A village has been near impossible.

With our most recent move, we were lucky enough to move to a town that had a ready made village: MOPS, or Mothers of Preschoolers. I had the pleasure of belonging to a MOPS group in Michigan and was eager to be back in the supportive arms of a group of women–mothers–who were more or less just like me.

What does this have to do with food? Well, we have meetings twice a month, and at every meeting there are two tables of women who are responsible for bringing morning type foods for a crockpot style breakfast. Today, my table was one of the ones in charge of food. And I had a heck of a time picking out what I was going to take. Last time it was jello cake and chocolates. I figured this time it would be chocolates and…well, I finally decided on this recipe for Creme Brûlée  French Toast.

When I was prepping the bread cubes, I came up with the idea to leave the rolls in their cardboard tray while I cut them. It was less mess and made for a pretty quick job of cubing them. After cutting them, I pulled a handful of the rolls apart and dropped them in the crockpot.

The next section of the recipe called for mixing the wet ingredients, plus sugar. I don’t know why, but I decided to dump all the wet ingredients together, mix them, and then add the sugar. Because there is so much milk in this recipe–and I had used a relatively small mixing bowl–it made it very hard to mix it up thoroughly. I actually had a decent amount of sugar in the bottom that I had to scrape out. If I do this recipe again, I will beat the eggs, add the vanilla, salt, and sugar, mix it up well, and then add the milk.

After refrigerating it for four hours, I popped it into the crock pot and let it cook over night. It smelled REALLY good when I woke up, but I was a little disappointed by the color and the denseness of it. When I got to my MOPS group and we finally started dishing it out, it was rather formless and dense. I found it to be a little too sweet, and thought that the look of it was off-putting, but it tasted pretty good and the other women at my table thought so too. I’ll probably try to tweak the recipe some–and if I do, I’ll make sure to update this post–but I do plan to try this again some time for my family. I think it I can get it to look a little nicer, my kids will really enjoy this!

Questions for my readers: How do you keep bread pudding–or other recipes similar to this one–from looking unappetizing?

About Dallas Funk

I'm a stay-at-home mom with two children (a seven-year-old son and a five-year-old daughter), 20+ years of writing experience, and a passion for food that has been developed over a lifetime of experimenting. Over the past 12 years of marriage, I have worked hard to learn all that I can to make my family all that it can be. My expertise has been primarily self-taught, allowing me to provide insights for the average person, whether they be an aspiring cook, a new mother, or a hopeful writer. I have studied and experimented with baking, cooking, budget meals, healthy and tasty alternatives to comfort foods, and even food photography. By combining my writing experience, my hard won cooking expertise, and my "everyman" outlook, I offer a special and unique slant to food and dining. In January of 2015, I will receive my MFA in Creative Writing, with a Popular Fiction specialty, from the University of Southern Maine's Stonecoast Writing Program.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Comfort Food, Dessert, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

